Summer Book Selection

Having begged, borrowed and bought some 58 books since the beginning of the MA TEFL, I’ve just raced through them all: trying to keep up with the required readings and looking for stuff related to whatever essay I’ve been working on. I haven’t read one book cover to cover yet…

 

Well, with 3 weeks off I decided to sink my teeth in to at least a couple of the many interesting books lining the wall next to my desk. Here’s my top 5 list:

 

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7)

 

5. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows – The only problem with HP is that I can’t do anything else once I open the cover. I’ve learned that from reading the first 6 books, so I decided to wait until school starts and make it bedtime reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linguistic Imperialism (Oxford Applied Linguistics)

 

4. Linguistic Imperialism (1992) Phillipson, R. – Fascinating, but I need to be in the right mood to fully enjoy it. That elusive mood is a combination of ‘ranting against the system’, and ‘wanting to right a wrong’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Observation in the Language Classroom (1988) Allwright, D. – I hope I have the stamina to get to this one. Anything he writes is WISE and PRACTICAL. I’ve learned to perk up and focus whenever he is cited in something.

 

Learning Vocabulary in Another Language (Cambridge Applied Linguistics)

 

2. Learning Vocabulary in Another Language (2001) Nation, I.S.P. – Pretty much the bible for teachers wanting to develop professionally – it is practical, detailed and overwhelming in its depth. From the perspective of teaching vocabulary, he introduces his four strands of a well-balanced English Program. He has recently expanded his four strands as an overall approach.

 

 

 

AND THE WINNER IS…

 

Macrostrategies for Language Teaching

 

1. Beyond Methods (2003) Kumaravadivelu, B. – It’s one of those books where you highlight something on each and every page. As an 18-year English teacher it speaks to me like no other book has of yet – I wonder if it resonates with new teachers as well? You know you’re a fan when you can either say his name smoothly or write it without checking – I can do both!

Leave a Reply

